The Norden stamps is a common issue between the Nordic countries. It is as old as the Europa stamps !

The first issue of 1956 had a common motive representing five flying swans. The Swan motif emanated from a poem from 1946 by Hans Hartvig Seedorff Pedersen titled “Svanerne fra Norden” [The Swans from the Nordic Countries], which is a tribute to the free community in the five countries each symbolized by a swan – Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

1991 , that year Åland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland also take part making a total of 8 countries issuing Norden stamps.



Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s